Mademoiselle Chanel

Mademoiselle Chanel

A Novel

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel--the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman's daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother's death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle's exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco--a seamstress and sometime torch singer--the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco's reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, c2015.
ISBN: 9780062356406
Branch Call Number: FICTION GOR
Characteristics: 406 p. ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
CrochetCat374
Jul 13, 2015

Who hasn't heard of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel? C.W. Gortner traces her entire life, from her childhood poverty to her rise in the fashion world, in this riveting piece of biographical fiction. A full portrait of Chanel emerges in this novel, both the good and the bad. She was ambitious, business-savvy, and forward-thinking, but she was also very human and made some highly regrettable mistakes, especially during WWII. Highly recommended for historical fiction fans!

athompson10 Apr 11, 2015

An interesting story, though the writing is a little simplistic. The section on Coco's possible involvement in a Nazi spy episode is very confusingly written.

s
sasie
Dec 09, 2014

A quick and easy book to read. It's a pretty interesting story, especially if you have any interest in fashion.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top