My Prairie Cookbook

My Prairie Cookbook

Memories and Frontier Food From My Little House to Yours

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
A collection of 80 comforting recipes from the star of Little House on the Prairie .

From prairie breakfasts and picnic lunches to treats inspired by Nellie's restaurant, these simple and delicious dishes--crispy fried chicken, pot roasts, cornbread, apple pie, and more--present Bonnet Heads (aka die-hard Little House fans) with the chance to eat like the Ingalls family.

Actress Melissa Gilbert's personal recollections and memorabilia, including behind-the-scenes stories, anecdotes, and more than 75 treasured scrapbook images, accompany the recipes. With answers to the most-asked questions from fans--on topics such as the biggest bloopers, on-set romances, and what Michael Landon was really like-- My Prairie Cookbook is a cherished memento for fans of Little House and Laura Ingalls Wilder, as well as anyone who loves hearty, simple home cooking.

"Melissa's writing is so warm and personal that it makes me feel like I'm being wrapped in a big, warm blanket, and the recipes are approachable and delicious." --Jennifer Garner
Publisher: New York :, Stewart, Tabori & Chang,, 2014.
ISBN: 9781613127124
161312712X
Branch Call Number: ELECTRONIC RESOURCE
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
Additional Contributors: Holweger, Dane - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

shokolit Oct 08, 2018

What I liked mostly in this book, were the behind the scene stories from "Little House on the Prairie", and the photos. The recipes seem simple, and easy to prepare, but I haven't tried any of them, so I can't tell if they turn out good or not.

CatherineG_1 Jun 15, 2016

Melissa Gilbert shares memories from The Little House of the Prairie television show.
The recipes are from Melissa's personal collection that she served her family and friends. She does say that she was not totally authentic to the show but the cobblers, biscuits, chicken and stew would have been dishes Ma cooked.
I loved the photos and stories from the show.

g
GLNovak
Mar 09, 2015

The author obviously enjoyed her growing up on Little House on the Prairie, and this book reflects that. The recipes are very doable family-friendly ones using ingredients that you can find in your local grocery. I tried the peach pudding last night and it came out just like the picture, and very tasty too with a bit of ice cream. The bonus with this book is all the photographs and the memories she shares with us.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top