Arts & Entertainments

Arts & Entertainments

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1

Christopher Beha delivers a cutting send-up of our cultural obsession with celebrity--a deliciously witty, and ultimately tender, novel about the absurdity of fame and the complexity of love sure to appeal to fans of Maria Semple and Jess Walter.

A sharp-edged satire with heart, Arts & Entertainments is the story of Handsome Eddie Hartley who, at thirty-three, has forgone dreams of an acting career for the reality of life as a drama teacher at a boys' prep school. But when Eddie and his wife, Susan, discover they cannot have children, it is one disappointment too many.

Weighted down with debt, his wife's mounting unhappiness, and his own deepening sense of failure, Eddie is confronted with an alluring solution when an old friend-turned-web-impresario suggests Eddie sell a sex tape he made with an ex-girlfriend, now a wildly popular television star. Overcoming his initial moral qualms, Eddie figures that in an era when any publicity is good publicity, the tape won't cause any harm--a decision that will have disastrous consequences and propel him straight into the glaring spotlight he once thought he craved.

A hilariously biting and incisive take-down of our culture's monstrous obsession with fame, Arts & Entertainments is also a poignant and humane portrait of a young man's belated coming-of-age, the complications of love, and the surprising ways in which the most meaningful lives often turn out to be the ones we least expected to lead.

Publisher: New York :, Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, ©2014.
ISBN: 9780062322463
Branch Call Number: FICTION BEH
Characteristics: 272 pages ; 21 cm
Alternative Title: Arts and entertainments.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
stillkicking Sep 30, 2014

It starts with a gripping, twisting plot that throws Eddie into celebrity culture. I felt that the second half stayed with the plot but the characters lost themselves. Perhaps the author wanted to say something about a shallow world by taking away depth from his characters, but I felt that it backfired...

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top