Stolen Songbird

Stolen Songbird

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:
The USA Today Bestselling debut from acclaimed author Danielle L. Jensen.

For five centuries, a witch's curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the ruins of Forsaken Mountain. Time enough for their dark and nefarious magic to fade from human memory and into myth. But a prophesy has been spoken of a union with the power to set the trolls free, and when C#65533;cile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she learns there is far more to the myth of the trolls than she could have imagined.

C#65533;cile has only one thing on her mind after she is brought to Trollus: escape. Only the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time, wait for the perfect opportunity.

But something unexpected happens while she's waiting - she begins to fall for the enigmatic troll prince to whom she has been bonded and married. She begins to make friends. And she begins to see that she may be the only hope for the half-bloods - part troll, part human creatures who are slaves to the full-blooded trolls. There is a rebellion brewing. And her prince, Tristan, the future king, is its secret leader.

As C#65533;cile becomes involved in the intricate political games of Trollus, she becomes more than a farmer's daughter. She becomes a princess, the hope of a people, and a witch with magic powerful enough to change Trollus forever.
Publisher: Nottingham :, Strange Chemistry,, ©2014.
ISBN: 9781908844965
Branch Call Number: YA JEN

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
MelissaYAReader
Jun 16, 2017

Cécile is kidnapped and sold to the trolls who have been trapped under the mountain for over 500 years. They marry her to their prince in hopes that she will be the one to break the witch's curse and free them for good.

This was a wonderful and well developed fantasy. It was a little slow in the beginning, and the pacing was a bit odd for me, but the story was so magical that I loved reading it. Cécile is a wonderful and well developed character. She longs to escape, but as she gets to know the trolls more she begins to sympathize with their plight, and longs to help the less fortunate among them.

I just wish it wasn't a series. I am starting to miss stand alone novels.

MedinaReads Mar 25, 2015

Stolen Songbird is a breathtakingly imaginative tale. Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped on her way home from the market and taken to a city she never believed existed- a city of trolls trapped beneath the mountain. The trolls believe that her marriage to the Crown Prince, Tristan, will break the curse set upon them and they will finally be free to roam the earth again. At first, Cécile thinks only of escape, but the more time she spends learning about the culture of Trollus and the unfair treatments of the half human half troll slaves, the more she learns about herself and embraces her new role. And it turns out that her new husband may not exactly be what she thinks he is. This book is fast paced and fascinating, a unique reimagining of the classic Beauty and the Beast tale. Readers who loved Seraphina and Graceling are sure to fall for this world and its characters as well. First in a planned trilogy. Recommended by S.A., Brunswick Library, MCDL

n
nidofito
Dec 09, 2014

The book is essentially a historical romance with fantasy mixed in using a good bit of contemporary phrases and comments. Tristan acts like a wannabe rake (but w/o the string of love affairs) with a sensitive heart and Cecile is the feisty common girl he has fallen in love with.

I liked the book because the entire troll lore (the history, the politics etc.) is amazing. There is A LOT of stuff that needs to be explained and as we've barely scratched the surface behind the mystery of The Fall it can only get better.

e
emilyswartzer
May 14, 2014

Okay, kcram02, you make it sound totally weird, which it is not. It's actually a very good book, and not completely about trolls. I loved it and can't wait for the sequel!

k
kcram02
May 13, 2014

This is a good book about trolls!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top