Medicine Walk

Medicine Walk

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
35
8
2
 …
Rate this:
"One of the finest novels of the year." ( Vancouver Sun ) By the celebrated author of Canada Reads finalist Indian Horse , this is an unforgettable journey of a father and son, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks and general literary fiction.
Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father, Eldon. He's sixteen years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they've shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son's duty to a father. What ensues is a journey through the rugged and beautiful backcountry, and a journey into the past, as the two men push forward to Eldon's end. From a poverty-stricken childhood, to the Korean War, and later the derelict houses of mill towns, Eldon relates both the desolate moments of his life and a time of redemption and love, and in doing so offers Frank a history he has never known, the father he has never had, and a connection to himself he never expected.
A novel about love, friendship, courage, and the idea that the land has within it powers of healing, Medicine Walk reveals the ultimate goodness of its characters and offers a deeply moving and redemptive conclusion. Wagamese's writing soars and his insight and compassion are matched by his gift of communicating these to the reader.
Publisher: Toronto :, McClelland & Stewart,, ©2014.
ISBN: 9780771089213
9781571311153
9780771089183
Branch Call Number: FICTION WAG
Characteristics: 245 pages ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Canada's First Authors
Jessica_c Apr 22, 2017

Wagamese died earlier this year, and this beautiful novel is a fitting tribute to a man who believed in the healing power of love, land, and the human condition's ability to triumph.

eBook edition also available through the Cloud Library resource (in our E-Library)

A journey with an estranged father through the wilderness proves to be a walk very much worth taking.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
csrestall
Dec 06, 2017

I really enjoyed this novel. I read it for the Amnesty International Canada book club. It held my interest from the beginning to the end. It is about a boy who is coming to terms with his own past and his fathers history and life story, while taking his father on a journey to die. It deals with family issues, abuse, war, and alcoholism. Very worth while read.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Oct 19, 2017

Medicine Walk follows the journey of a half-indigenous boy who, against the backdrop of Canadian wilderness, discovers the history on which his life is built on. As 16-year-old Frank sets out to fulfill his dying father’s last wish, he comes face to face with his father’s harrowing past. He learns about the experiences that drowned his father in alcohol, and consequently, led him down the path of self-destruction. Throughout the story, the clarity and depth of descriptions absorb the reader’s attention in all ways. Along with bringing to life the natural beauty of rural Canada, Wagamese has spun a heart touching tale that illustrates anguish, anger and regret through a father-son relationship. Medicine Walk is unique, entertaining, and definitely worth reading. 5/5 Stars
- @VirtueofReading of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

t
thebritlass
Sep 21, 2017

Incredible prose and thought-provoking material.

m
mclarjh
Aug 17, 2017

Dull prose. Cliched characters. Melodramatic storytelling. Reads more like a Young Adult book, but too long and boring.

g
gingerbeer
Jun 08, 2017

Excellent book; insightful and heart wrenching!

t
tstadheim
May 26, 2017

A terrific book with a great story to tell.

w
wyenotgo
Apr 11, 2017

A magnificent piece of work. Wagamese succeeds in making us believe that despite all the failings arising from human frailty, despite all the betrayals of trust, broken promises, unfulfilled dreams, despite all of that and more, redemption is possible. Forgiveness may take a bit longer. In recounting the painful farewell between a sixteen-year-old and his miserable, alcoholic, dying father, a man he hardly knew, Wagamese traverses the full range of pain, recrimination, revelation, suffering that are part of the human condition. There is no room for joy here but there is a measure of acceptance and finally peace. There are many things to celebrate in this book, among them a skillful exploration of the aboriginal relationship with the natural world, joined with (and expressed through) eurocentric prose; a devastating account of close combat as it took place in the Korean War; and several loving, deeply personal descriptions of the western Canadian high country in all its glory.
A special note of thanks to Shelagh Rogers on the CBC for introducing me to the work of this remarkable writer, who regrettably passed away quite recently.

r
rodraglin
Feb 19, 2017

Franklin Starlight never knew his mother and the few encounters he's had with his alcoholic father have left him hurt and disappointed.

He's been raised on a small ranch in northern British Columbia by "the old man", who's taught him everything he knows about ranching and wilderness survival. He's also taught him about integrity, self-esteem and the qualities of good character.

At sixteen, Franklin's more a man then most.

When he gets a call from his father he's tempted to ignore it, but this time it's different. His father is dying of liver disease and wants Frank to help him travel to remote ridge forty miles out in the wilderness. Once there he wants "a warrior's death", buried sitting upright in the ground facing east "so he can follow the rising sun across the sky to the Happy Hunting Grounds."

As it's his father's dying wish, Frank feels duty-bound to oblige him. Besides, he's longing to know more about his family history including how he came to be brought up by the "the old man".

So begins the journey, from a small mill town into the wilderness, Frank walking and leading a horse his father rides because he is too weak to walk.

As each mile passes Franklin begins to know his father as the man slowly divulges his personal history, Franklin's history.

In Medicine Walk, Richard Wagamese has created a story that resonates on many levels. There's the portrayal of a Spartan way of life defined by hard manual labour, loyalty and integrity as conveyed in the characters of Franklin and "the old man".

Then there's the life Franklin's father has lived - one of never facing up to your demons and using alcohol to keep them at bay.

It's a story of the extremes of human nature - of doing the right thing no matter how tough and painful it is, and doing everything to avoid it.

Wagamese' dialogue is authentic, his characters complex, and his story is brutal in it's truth.

c
citymove
Jul 06, 2016

Beautifully written book that I couldn't put down.

e
Eosos
Jun 03, 2016

This is the first book I've read by this author and I don't think it will be the last.

I am really partial to stories that have flashbacks, I like the feeling of reminiscing that happens when a story is written like this and this book is particularly good at it.

Eldon's back story from when he was growing up was quite enthralling. The stories of himself and his buddy, with their lack of fear and feelings of invincibility really evoked a certain type of character. I found it made it hard to match up that with the person he had become and it took until the last flashback to really make that equation work out.

Franklin is such a well turned out kid considering what the book tells us of his life. He comes across as both far older than his age and a kid who wants the family he never had. It's a hard character to write without either making him seem unrealistically old man like or childish, and I think the balance was just right here.

The Old Man in such an enigmatic character, even once you find out part of his story it still doesn't tell everything. I like that he's there as such a big influence for Franklin but he's also not there or at least his character doesn't get in the way of the father/son story being told.

I have heard this book described as quiet & subtle and I have to agree. It's an incredibly well done character study of a father and son.

View All Comments

Notices

Add Notices

c
csrestall
Dec 06, 2017

Other: alcoholism

c
csrestall
Dec 06, 2017

Sexual Content: sexual scenes

c
csrestall
Dec 06, 2017

Violence: Domestic abuse and war

c
csrestall
Dec 06, 2017

Coarse Language: minor swears

s
shayshortt
Sep 16, 2015

Sexual Content: Prostitution

s
shayshortt
Sep 16, 2015

Violence: Domestic abuse War

s
shayshortt
Sep 16, 2015

Coarse Language: Occasional swearing.

s
shayshortt
Sep 16, 2015

Other: Substance abuse

Quotes

Add a Quote

t
thebritlass
Sep 21, 2017

...we're a Great Mystery. Everything. Said the things they done, those old-time Indians, was all about learnin' to live with that mystery. Not solving it, not comin' to grips with it, not even tryin' to guess it out. Just bein' with it. I guess I wish I'd learned the secret to doing that.

s
shayshortt
Sep 16, 2015

"All’s I’m tryin’ to say is that we never had the time for learnin’ about how to get by out here. None of us did. White man things was what we needed to learn if we was gonna eat regular. Indian stuff just kinda got left behind on accounta we were busy gettin’ by in that world.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

c
csrestall
Dec 06, 2017

csrestall thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

c
csrestall
Dec 06, 2017

The kid also known as Frank has always lived with the Old Man, and does not know much about where he comes from or his own story. His father (not the Old Man) calls on him to help him make a journey through the wilderness to a specific place where he would like to die. He is suffering from a failing liver due to alcoholism. Throughout the course of the journey Frank learns his history through the stories of his father, and also narrates some of his own childhood experiences. His father tells of his time as a child, the abuse of his mother, the death of his father (Frank's grandfather), the Vietnam war, meeting Frank's mother, and how she died. Frank tells of each time that he saw his father as a child and thier subsequent shattered relationship. He is able to forgive his father before he dies, and buries him before returning home.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top