The Broken Road

The Broken Road

From the Iron Gates to Mount Athos

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:

The long-awaited final volume of the trilogy by Patrick Leigh Fermor.

A Time of Gifts and Between the Woods and the Water were the first two volumes in a projected trilogy that would describe the walk that Patrick Leigh Fermor undertook at the age of eighteen from the Hook of Holland to Constantinople. 'When are you going to finish Vol. III?' was the cry from his fans; but although he wished he could, the words refused to come. The curious thing was that he had not only written an early draft of the last part of the walk, but that it predated the other two. It remains unfinished but The Broken Road - edited and introduced by Colin Thubron and Artemis Cooper - completes an extraordinary journey.

Publisher: London :, John Murray,, 2013, ©2013.
ISBN: 9781848547520
Branch Call Number: 914. 96 FER
Characteristics: xxi, 362 pages ; 24 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Oct 02, 2018

A great book for foot travelers. Entertaining and observant.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at CPL

To Top