Wake

Wake

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
A brilliant debut set just after WWI, as Britain's Unknown Warrior is being brought home from France; three very different women try to find ways to live again after devastating losses -- of a son, a brother, a lover -- and their tragic connection is gradually revealed as the book unfolds. For readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society and Sebastian Faulks's Birdsong .

Wake: 1) Emerge or cause to emerge from sleep 2) Ritual for the dead 3) Consequence or aftermath.
Hettie, a dance instructress at the Hammersmith Palais, lives at home with her mother and her brother, withdrawn and lost after his return from the trenches. One night, she meets a wealthy, educated man and has reason to think he is as smitten with her as she is with him. Still, there is something distracted about him, something she cannot reach... Evelyn works at the Pensions Exchange through which thousands of wounded and shellshocked come, seeking their country's support. Embittered by her own loss, more and more estranged from her well-to-do parents, she looks for solace in her adored brother who has not been the same since he returned from the front... Ada is beset by visions of her son on every street, convinced he is still alive. Helpless, her loving husband of 25 years has withdrawn from her. Then one day a young man appears at her door with notions to peddle, like hundreds of out of work veterans. But when he utters the name of her son she is jolted to the core...
The lives of these three women are braided together, their stories gathering tremendous power as the ties that bind them become clear, and the body of the unknown soldier moves closer and closer to its final resting place.
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart, c2014.
ISBN: 9780771039669
Branch Call Number: FICTION HOP

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_KATI Oct 21, 2016

A beautiful, moving novel intertwined with the search for a body to be the UK's Unknown Soldier. I cannot wait for another novel from this author (*crosses fingers*).

m
maipenrai
Aug 14, 2016

ONE AUDIOBOOK THRU MINN LINK.....

lbarkema Jun 19, 2014

I found it to be an incredibly fast read. It started a bit slow and the switch between narratives made it difficult to follow at first but I soon became involved in each of the women's lives and how Post-WWI affected them. It is not as often that you find books about the Great War or the aftermath and I thought this to be refreshing. Overall, I would give this a 3.75 for an interesting read but it just didn't leave me with a long-lasting impression and the ending was far to abrupt for my taste.

j
jazpur
Apr 23, 2014

I'm still not sure about this book. Bleak is the best word to describe it.The loss and the misery caused by World War I to families, regardless of social position, comes through strongly.The lives of 3 women in the few days when the body of the Unknown Soldier was being brought back to Britain are intertwined as they think it could be their soldier. Loss of this kind is the same for soldiers' families to the present day.Perhaps it would work better as a film.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top