The Other Typist

The Other Typist

[a Novel]

Audiobook CD - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1
One of the most fascinating, unreliable narrators you'll read this year, for fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and Rules of Civility .

It is 1923. Rose Baker is a typist in the New York City Police Department on the lower east side. Confessions are her job. The criminals admit to their crimes, and like a high priestess, Rose records their every word. Often she is the only woman present. And while she may hear about shootings, knifings, and crimes of passion, as soon as she leaves that room she is once again the weaker sex, best suited for making coffee.
 
It is a new era for women, and New York City is a confusing time for Rose. Gone are the Victorian standards of what is acceptable. Now women bob their hair short like men, they smoke, they go to speakeasies. But prudish Rose is stuck in the fading light of yesteryear, searching for the nurturing companionship that eluded her childhood and clinging to the Victorian ideal of sisterhood.
 
But when glamorous Odalie, a new girl, joins the typing pool, despite her best intentions Rose falls under Odalie's spell. As the two women navigate between the sparkling underworld of speakeasies by night, and their work at the station by day, Rose is drawn fully into Odalie's high stakes world and her fascination with Odalie turns into an obsession from which she may never recover.
 
.
Publisher: New York : Penguin Audio, c2013.
ISBN: 9781611761740
Branch Call Number: BOOKCD FICTION RIN
Characteristics: 8 sound discs (10 hrs.)
Additional Contributors: Mol, Gretchen

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
readlisten
Jul 03, 2014

I had just finished watching the Ken Burns series "Prohibition" when I began listening to "The Other Typist". I enjoyed both very much indeed. The "Typist" appears to be historically accurate, and definitely very interesting, in its evocation of Twenties society. The female protagonist is a compelling character, and the twists and the turns in the plot keep one engaged. The reader, actress Gretchen Mol, is superb.

JCLHunterSt Jul 24, 2013

This is an author with a great voice. She knows how to create atmosphere without bogging the book down in pointless detail. The characters were very realistic, even the minor ones felt real. Although, I can’t say I liked any of the characters. The ending is the biggest mystery and even now, I’m not sure what to believe or what the author wants us to believe. If you liked Gone Girl (Gillian Flynn) and The Silent Wife (A.S.A. Harrison), you’ll enjoy this book.

Quotes

Add a Quote
JCLHunterSt Jul 24, 2013

They said the typewriter would unsex us.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top