King Jack and the Dragon

King Jack and the Dragon

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
5
1
Rate this:
A lively playtime adventure that becomes a warm and cozy bedtime book -- perfect for every little knight-in-training. From the illustrator of the award-winning We're Going on a Bear Hunt.
 
Night is falling and playtime is nearly over. But brave King Jack and his faithful knights Zak and Caspar are still protecting their castle fort from fierce dragons and terrible beasts. This captivating, joyful make-believe adventure is the perfect bedtime story for brave children everywhere. Fans of  Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Dinosaur Roar will especially enjoy this imaginative tale.

An ALA Notable Book
Bank Street Book Committee Best Children's Books of the Year
Kate Greenaway Award

"It's an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parent's embrace."-- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
"A tale of make-believe that children will delight in hearing again and again."-- School Library Journal (starred review)
 
"Sure to be read aloud again and again, this testament to imaginative play exudes warmth."-- Kirkus Reviews
Publisher: New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, 2011.
ISBN: 9780803736986
Branch Call Number: Z BEN
Characteristics: [32] p. : col. ill.
Additional Contributors: Oxenbury, Helen - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
levi_g
Jan 21, 2017

The best! We loved this book, and the other Jack books... I think I loved the books as much as my 3 and 5 year olds, but they definitely loved it.

m
mmcbeth29
Aug 29, 2014

I loved this book beginning with the cover. Who couldn't love the three little boys who built themselves a castle out of cardboard, blankets and other things laying about? The littlest one sucks his binky and points the dragons away. The next oldest boy has saggy pants and a dragon slaying spirit. Then there is Jack, who tries his best to brave the dark after his friends have left. He plans on continuing the game of dragon slaying all by himself. But he is very happy when his parents bring him hugs and take him home for the night. He is only about five years old after all.
This story is adorable. The illustrations are rich and beautiful. The characters are charming. This is a wonderful tale of how children play and use their imagination.
A must read! It is recommended up to age 5, but I think children even older would enjoy this book.

ChristchurchKids Dec 26, 2013

Friends Jack, Zack, and Caspar build a fort and spend the day defending it from imaginary dragons and beasts. As it gets dark, "giants" (parents coming to collect Jack's friends) carry away first Sir Zack, and then Caspar, and King Jack is left to face the night creatures all alone. Brave at first, King Jack finally quails when a large shadow looms over the fort - but it turns out to be Jack's Mum and Dad, coming to take him to bed. This "full-throttle pretend play" (Publishers Weekly) adventure is only very slightly scary and has a warm and cosy ending.

Picture books newsletter December 2013

m
milajenken
Apr 26, 2013

My 2 year old loves this book and requests it all the time! It is definitely a quick read, not too scary, and has great illustrations. The best parts are when the 'giants' come to take away the brave knights (it's just the parents of course)! Very fun!

JCLChristiH Dec 19, 2011

Jack, Zack, and Caspar build a castle fort, then spend a day fighting dragons and beasts, but at day's end giants carry away first Sir Zack, then Caspar, and King Jack is left to face night creatures alone.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

m
mmcbeth29
Aug 29, 2014

mmcbeth29 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 1 and 8

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top