Venetia

Venetia

Book - 1958
Average Rating:
8
Rate this:
Reading Georgette Heyer is the next best thing to reading Jane Austen." #65533;-Publishers Weekly Celebrate the 80th birthday of Regency Romance with great books from Sourcebooks Casablanca!

Beautiful, capable, and intendent minded, Venetia Lanyon's life on her family's estate in the country side is somewhat restricted.#65533;  But her neighbor, the infamous Lord Dameral, a charming rake shunned by polite society is about to shake things up.

Lord Damerel has built his life on his dangerous reputation, and when he meets Venetia, he has nothing to offer and everything to regret. Though his scandalous past and deepest secrets give Venetia reason to mistrust him, a rogue always gets what he wants.

As Venetia's well-meaning family steps in to protect her from potential ruin, Venetia must find the wherewithal to take charge of her own destiny, or lose her chance at happiness.

Charming characters and flawless prose make Venetia a fan favorite from the Queen of Regency Romance. Fans of Mary Balogh, Elizabeth Hoyt and Jane Ashford will be delighted by this story about finding love, redemption, and the courage to follow your heart.

Other Regency Romances from Georgette Heyer:
Frederica #65533;-a woman seeking security for her family finds love where, and when, she least expected it
Sylvester-She meets none of his requirements for a wife. He is the chief villain in her novel.
Cotillion- A sham betrothal isn't the only thing that gets Kitty and Freddy#65533;  into trouble, but it's definitely the beginning.

What readers are saying about Venetia

"There are no cardboard cutout characters, they are multi-layered, full of life whether you hate them, love them, laugh at them or barely tolerate them."

"Not only do I think that Venetia is Georgette Heyer's best novel, I think Venetia is one of her best characters and certainly one of my favorite heroines in all romance fiction."

What reviewers are saying about Venetia

"A wonderful story whose characters, settings and, most importantly, dialogue combine to create such a well-crafted story."-Bags, Books, and Bon Jovi

"Wonderful characters, elegant, witty writing, perfect period detail, and rapturously romantic"-Katie Fforde

"Wonderful and lovely and perfect! Venetia is one of the most charming characters EVER." #65533;-Once Upon a Bookshelf

"An absolutely rollicking Regency romp. I loved it from the first page." #65533;-Library Queue

What everyone has to say about the Queen of Regency Romance Georgette Heyer

"Georgette Heyer was one of the great protagonists of the historical novel in the post-war golden age of the form. Her regency romances are delightful light reading..." #65533;-Philippa Gregory

"[Heyer's] characters are witty and beyond charming, her prose is flawless and lighthearted, and her historical detail is immaculate."-Read All Over Reviews

"Georgette Heyer is unbeatable." -Sunday Telegraph

Publisher: Naperville, Ill. : Sourcebooks Casablanca, 1958.
ISBN: 9781402238840
Branch Call Number: FICTION HEY

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
julia_sedai
Dec 22, 2016

I listened to the audiobook, Naxos 2010 version. Richard Armitage's voices are amazing! I really enjoyed listening to this book. He did a fantastic job. Every character has a different voice, and even have different accents, which is great. I admit that I specifically bought this copy because of the narrator.

As for the actual plot, I liked it. I hadn't read this book before, so it was interesting to listen to. Venetia is a pretty likable character, and Lord Damerel is intriguing. I liked that they fell in love early on and knew it, too, instead of it being wrapped up in a couple pages at the end.

l
LisaBunker
Aug 28, 2014

This book is a delight every time I read it. Of all Heyer's historicals, I love this one the most. Other favorites are False Colours, These Old Shades, and The Grand Sophy.

g
ggmu
Sep 08, 2012

It is impossible to say which is my favourite Georgette Heyer novel - usually the one I read last. Venetia is definitely in the top five though. The leading couple are quite unlike any other Heyer wrote (though the Duke of Avon in These old shades comes close), and as always, the language is pure delight.

s
SilverIlix
Jul 14, 2012

I really enjoyed this book. The characters are open-minded, and outspoken and in this time period, it's a refreshing idea and makes for a great read.

k
kara2010
Feb 21, 2012

I love this book. Venetia is my favorite lady of G. Heyer novels.

p
Palomino
Feb 01, 2012

old-fashioned, yes, but fun. It's kind of like Jane Austen, but it moves along a lot better, and Austen never knew anything about horses.

debwalker Dec 11, 2010

Jane Austen-light. Heyer fizzes and sparkles.

l
Librarianne
Jul 22, 2010

One of my favorite Georgette Heyer books.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top