The Mask Wearer

The Mask Wearer

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"A smart choice for die-hard fantasy lovers. . . . Fans of Cornelia Funke's Inkheart trilogy will approve."-- Booklist

Amos Daragon's life changes forever the day a mermaid gives him a mask capable of harnessing the strength of the wind--and appoints Amos as the new Mask Wearer. His task: to find the masks for the other elements, earth, fire, and water. Only then will Amos be fully empowered to battle the evil forces that threaten to destroy the balance of nature and plunge the world into darkness.
To fulfill his destiny, Amos must make his way to the mysterious woods of Tarkasis. But a wicked sorcerer is terrorizing the land, searching for a skull pendant that was stolen from him--a pendant that conceals a secret weapon. What will Amos do when the pendant falls into his hands? Will Beorf, a boy who can morph into a bear, and Medusa, a snake-haired gorgon, turn out to be friend or foe? And will Amos master any of his newfound skills as Mask Wearer in time to face a formidable enemy? His chanllenges are great . . .  and they're just beginning.

From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, 2011.
ISBN: 9780385907668
Branch Call Number: J PER
Characteristics: 167 p. ; 22 cm.
Additional Contributors: Maudet, Y.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Hathor Apr 27, 2013

This English translation of a French-Canadian award winner is absolutely wonderful! The characters are believable and the plot is fast-paced! The setting is interesting since it uses beings, monsters and gods from various mythologies. Suggested for readers who love Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. Since only the first two books have been translated, try reading the series in French.
Also a good title to keep in mind when the teacher asks for a book written by a Canadian author.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at CPL

To Top