The Ersatz Elevator

The Ersatz Elevator

Book - 2001
Average Rating:
Rate this:
26
7
1

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe.

In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

Publisher: New York : HarperCollins Publishers, 2001.
ISBN: 9780064408646
0064408647
9780060288891
0060288892
Branch Call Number: J SNI
Additional Contributors: Helquist, Brett - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
CASSIE ERIN MAUL
May 14, 2019

The misfortunes of the Baudelaire orphans continue in this sixth installment of their miserable tale. And once again, the dastardly Count Olaf is back with more unpleasant surprises.

Full of false things, nefarious purposes, and disguises galore, the trail of despair continues. But surprising things are waiting to be discovered. Is there a connection that the Baudelaires can’t see? What is V.F.D. and how does it involve the orphans?

Well, if you want to find out what they discovered, I suppose you should pick up this book, but there really are many other more pleasant books to read out there. And this book does not reveal all, so you will have to continue following the woeful misadventures of the Baudelaire orphans. Why continue on this path of misery? Only if you insist.

w
Wilson_21
Apr 14, 2019

best. book. ever.

s
someone13
Apr 04, 2019

Best book in the series so far!!
Up to this one. So many plot twists.

n
Nymeria23
Apr 21, 2018

I'm falling in love with this series more and more, even though it's not a very happy story

b
blue_horse_2854
Mar 24, 2018

This book had a plot twist at the end and a lot of suspense! It tells of the things that the Baudelaires will do because of their friendship with the Quagmire triplets! I didn't like their guardians very much, but other than that the book was great! I love this series! This book unveils secrets of good and bad things. <3 :) I would read this again!

m
MadelineB30
Jul 21, 2017

I really enjoyed this book because it kept me wanting to read more. My favourite part was when the boudaleirs found the triplets and had to find a way to save them. I also like when the boudaleirs where at the auction and trying to find the box that had the triplets where in. Overall, I have no negative feedback about this book.

l
leila_05
Jul 20, 2017

I loved this book, although count olaf found the orphans again, the plot was really interesting, and I always love reading about violet's incredible inventing skills. You could say that this book is very "in", and I recommend reading the other books as well.

p
parnoosh
Jul 12, 2017

This series is always one of my favourite series ever and this book is definitely my favourite book in the series. I really like this book, because of its story. It is different from the last ones, which makes it far more interesting.

k
kbirchenall
Jul 11, 2017

******************** SPOILER ALERT ***************** so shocking
the guardian is count Olaf girlfriend what!!!!!!! the story is so captivating you never want to put it down.

p
pusheen563
Jun 14, 2017

When I read A series of unfortunate events I feel good while reading. I did not like reading before but when I started to read A series of unfortunate events I started to LOVE to read

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

blue_butterfly_2843 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

blue_cat_10445 Sep 18, 2015

blue_cat_10445 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 14

white_tiger_505 Aug 11, 2014

white_tiger_505 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

white_dogfish_12 Jun 18, 2014

white_dogfish_12 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 15

y
yellow_panther_50
May 12, 2014

yellow_panther_50 thinks this title is suitable for 5 years and over

t
toliveisChrist
Jan 21, 2013

toliveisChrist thinks this title is suitable for 6 years and over

green_rabbit_178 Jun 15, 2012

green_rabbit_178 thinks this title is suitable for 7 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
t
toliveisChrist
Jan 21, 2013

This is the story of the three Baudelaire children - Violet, Klaus and Sunny. Being persued by the notorious Count Olaf who would like to get his dirty hands on the orphans' fortune, they are taken to live with Effie and Jeromy, who are supposedly relatives of theirs. Discovering a hidden passage underneath the tall apartment of their caretakers, the children finally find their long lost friends, the Quagmire triplets. Unfortunately, the triplets are trapped, and before the Baudelaires can free them, Olaf takes them away. Finding that Effie is in cahoots with Count Olaf, the children are on the run again after a frightening auction, and the mystery of the three letters and the burning of houses goes on.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top