Busman's Honeymoon

Busman's Honeymoon

[a Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery With Harriet Vane]

Book - 1937
Average Rating:
Rate this:

A must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries, Lord Peter Wimsey is the immortal amateur sleuth created by Dorothy L Sayers.

They plan to have a quiet country honeymoon. Then Lord Peter Wimsey and his bride Harriet Vane find the previous owner's body in the cellar.
Set in a country village seething with secrets and snobbery, this is Dorothy L. Sayers' last full-length detective novel. Variously described as a love story with detective interruptions and a detective story with romantic interruptions, it lives up to both descriptions with style.

Publisher: New English Library ; HarperCollins, 1937.
ISBN: 9780450018008
Branch Call Number: MYSTERY SAY


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Jan 02, 2018

Wonderful mystery by Dorothy L. Sayers first published in 1937. The book begins with the wedding of detective Lord Peter Whimsey and Harriet Vane, two very literary forty-somethings. Part of the great fun of the book, besides solving the mystery, is that they're constantly quoting from the classics to enhance almost every situation, and a few of the other characters join them in this truly entertaining pastime. Peter is like Sherlock Holmes - a flawed character (shy, shell-shocked from the war) but inherently good and very appealing.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at CPL

To Top