A Constellation of Roses

A Constellation of Roses

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2

Perfect for fans of Tell Me Three Things and The Astonishing Color of After, A Constellation of Roses is brimming with a magic all its own--lovable and flawed characters, an evocative setting, and friendships to treasure.

Ever since her troubled mother abandoned her, Trix McCabe has preferred to stay on the move.

But when she lands with her long-lost relatives, she finds out that the McCabe women have talents like her own that defy explanation: pies that cure all ills, palm-reading that never misses the mark, knowledge of secrets that have never been told.

Before long, Trix feels like she might finally have found somewhere she belongs. But when her past comes back to haunt her, she'll have to decide whether to take a chance on this new life . . . or keep running from the one she's always known.

More magic awaits in the stunning companion novel, The Deepest Roots, which Booklist called "a must-read" in a starred review!

Publisher: New York :, HarperTeen,, ©2019.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062747105
Branch Call Number: YA ASE

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
CASSIE ERIN KELLEY
Oct 26, 2020

A random book I picked out at the library, A Constellation of Roses had me intrigued from the synopsis. And this wonderful book delivered on every premise hinted at in the description. With some special talents and a lot of family love, this book hit the spot for a contemporary realistic book with just a hint of magic.

Trix McCabe has had nobody to look after her since her mother walked out and never came back. A loner and drifter, Trix has survived with a gift seemingly woven into her very DNA: the gift of effortless thieving of anything she wants. Though her life isn’t perfect, she can get by, which makes it all the more devastating when she’s caught for running from her foster care family and forced to go to live with family she never knew she had.

When she gets there, she discovers that every other woman in the family also have gifts. And she begins to discover that this family could be what she’s been looking for ever since the Good Year ended. But can Trix finally stop running after a lifetime of never staying in one place?

This book is an emotional rollercoaster. Trix is a fascinating character that truly captures the heart of what family can really mean to a person. I would recommend this book to anybody who wants a feel-good family novel. This book will touch your soul and make you feel as this family knits together and finds a way to live despite their odd gifts and broken pasts.

LPL_MaryW Aug 22, 2019

Recently abandoned by her mother, petty thief Trix McCabe floats between motels for months before her landlord rats her out. Rather than go to trial as an adult, she takes a deal and moves in with her dead father’s family in Rocksaw, Kansas. Sure she’ll run at the first chance she gets, Trix is surprised to discover that all of the McCabe women are uniquely gifted, and the three women she lives with grow on her. Working at the McCabes’ tea and pie shop, Trix must learn to put down roots or else be enveloped by her haunting past. The heartwarming Midwestern novel is a pleasure to read!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top