Stronghold

Stronghold

One Man's Quest To Save The World's Wild Salmon

Unknown - 2019/07/23
Rate this:
"A powerful and inspiring story. Guido Rahr's mission to save the wild Pacific salmon leads him into adventures that make for a breathtakingly exciting read."--Ian Frazier, author of Travels in Siberia

In the tradition of Mountains Beyond Mountains and The Orchid Thief , Stronghold is Tucker Malarkey's eye-opening account of an unlikely visionary and his crusade to protect the world's last bastion of wild salmon. From a young age, Guido Rahr was a misfit among his family and classmates, preferring to spend his time in the natural world. An obsessive fly fisherman, Rahr noticed when the salmon runs of the Pacific Northwest began to decline--and was one of the few who understood why. As dams, industry, and climate change degraded the homes of these magnificent fish, Rahr saw that the salmon of the Pacific Rim were destined to go the way of their Atlantic brethren: near extinction.

An improbable and inspiring story, Stronghold takes us on a wild adventure, from Oregon to Alaska to one of the world's last remaining salmon strongholds in the Russian Far East, a landscape of ecological richness and diversity that is rapidly being developed for oil, gas, minerals, and timber. Along the way, Rahr contends with scientists, conservationists, Russian oligarchs, corrupt officials, and unexpected allies in an attempt to secure a stronghold for the endangered salmon, an extraordinary keystone species whose demise would reverberate across the planet.

Tucker Malarkey, who joins Rahr in the Russian wilderness, has written a clarion call for a sustainable future, a remarkable work of natural history, and a riveting account of a species whose future is closely linked to our own.

Advance praise for Stronghold

"This book isn't just about fish, it's about life itself and the fragile unseen threads that connect all creatures across this beleaguered orb we call home. Guido Rahr's quest to save the world's wild salmon should serve as an inspiration--and a provocation--for us all, and Tucker Malarkey's exquisite book captures Rahr's weird and wonderful story with poignancy, humor, and grace." --Hampton Sides, author of In the Kingdom of Ice and Blood and Thunder

"A crazy-good, intensely lived book that reads like an international thriller--only it's our beloved salmon playing the part of diamonds or oil or gold." --David James Duncan, author of The River Why and The Brothers K
Publisher: Random House , 2019/07/23
Edition: HC
ISBN: 9781984801692

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top