Summer of A Thousand Pies

Summer of A Thousand Pies

Book - 2019
Rate this:

A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel about a girl who must try to save her aunt's failing pie shop, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Fish in a Tree--and The Great British Baking Show.

When Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn't even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she isn't sure what to expect. Cady isn't used to stability, after growing up homeless in San Diego with her dad.

Now she's staying in her mother's old room, exploring the countryside filled with apple orchards and pie shops, making friends, and working in Aunt Shell's own pie shop--and soon, Cady starts to feel like she belongs.

Then she finds out that Aunt Shell's shop is failing. Saving the business and protecting the first place she's ever really felt safe will take everything she's learned and the help of all her new friends. But are there some things even the perfect pie just can't fix?

Summer of a Thousand Pies is a sweet and satisfying treat of a novel full of friendship, family, and, of course, pie.

Publisher: New York :, Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,, ©2019.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062803467
Branch Call Number: J DIL

Opinion

From Library Staff

When Cady moves in with her aunt who she has never before met, she expects to feel alone in this new small town. However, Cady unexpectedly feels, for the first time, at home, especially when she finds herself caught up in saving her aunt's store! A touching novel recommended for grade 3 and up.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top