The Secret Orphan

The Secret Orphan

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1

Keep her secret

Keep her safe

On the 14th November 1940, Hitler's bombs rain down on Coventry. From the rubble of a bombed-out family home, a young girl is saved...

This is a stunning and memorable page-turner of love, loss and resilience for fans of Orphan Train and The Secret Wife

Keep her secret

Keep her safe

On the 14th November 1940, Hitler's bombs rain down on Coventry. From the rubble of a bombed-out family home, a young girl is saved...

As the Nazis' relentless bombs fall during the Blitz of Coventry, six-year-old Rose Sherbourne finds herself orphaned and under the guardianship of a Cornish farmer's daughter, Elenor Cardew.

Elenor knows that the only way to protect spirited Rose is to leave the city and make a new life for themselves away from harm. But soon Elenor discovers that Hitler's firestorm is not the only thing she must fear when she learns a devastating secret about Rose...

With Rose's life in imminent danger, Elenor turns to the only person she can trust to keep the deadly secret, heroic Canadian pilot, Jackson St John. And amidst the destruction of war, an unlikely romance blossoms as they find a way to protect the child they have both grown to love...and each other.

Readers LOVE The Secret Orphan:

'Keeps you wanting to read into the small hours' Lisa, Goodreads

'The best and most beautiful book I've read in a long time' Brid, Netgalley

'Simply amazing' Rikki-Doodlebug's Book Reviews

'Captivated from beginning to end' Jessyca, Goodreads

'A gripping, page turner set in WWII ... Loved it' Amanda, Netgalley

Publisher: London :, HarperCollinsPublishers,, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780008308834
9780008300951
Branch Call Number: FICTION PET
Characteristics: 390 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
Tica77
May 31, 2019

I’ve read several World War II novels recently, several about the resistance women. Some of them are hard to read because of the tragedy and violence they contain. The Secret Orphan is a lot easier to read and, although it contains some suspense, it is a story of love between a lovable orphan, her legal guardian and the pilot she loves. Although it is. Not based on a true story, the author paints a picture of really believable characters. Reads quickly.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top