Odd One Out

Odd One Out

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez (Coop & Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven-years-old. She's his partner-in-crime and other half. But lately, Cooper can't ignore he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter.

When Rae Chin moves to town she can't believe how lucky she is to find Coop and Jupe. Being the new kid is usually synonymous with pariah, but around these two, she finally feels like she belongs. She's so grateful she wants to kiss him...and her.

Jupiter has always liked girls. But when Rae starts dating Cooper, Jupe realizes that the only girl she ever really imagined by his side was her.

One story. Three sides. No easy answers.

AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR
A BOSTON GLOBE BEST CHILDREN'S BOOK OF 2018

"Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed." -Teen Vogue

"Declaring yourself--how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with--is treated with real tenderness." -The New York Times
Publisher: New York :, Crown,, ©2018.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781101939536
Branch Call Number: YA STO
Characteristics: 309 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

A love triangle between two best friends and the new girl may sound familiar but with it Stone challenges perceptions of sexuality and identity, while writing something refreshingly new.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
IndyPL_MollieB Sep 04, 2020

Jupiter and Courtney have been best friends since forever. Jupiter, a proud and out lesbian, and Courtney, who is not-so-secretly in love with Jupiter, befriend a new girl, Rae. Their friendship evolves through various ways, and through it, self-discovery is revealed.

What does it mean to have a label? Cis, trans, straight, gay, bi . . . the list can go on. But who says you need to have a label? Non-binary "enby" is also a legitimate label that refutes the social construct of labels.

Bi Visibility Day is quickly approaching: September 23th--Mark your calendar. https://www.pinknews.co.uk/2018/09/22/what-is-bi-visibility-day-and-why-is-it-important/

#IndyPLTeens #IndyPL_LGBTQ+

e
edutton11
Nov 05, 2018

I liked this one a lot. It's not every day you get to see positive representation for more than one (heck, even just one) multi-gender-attracted main character, especially own-voice! It's not really a coming out story, but there's a lot of messy self-discovery that felt absolutely real. Plus, almost every named character in the book is PoC!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top