The Bird and the Blade

The Bird and the Blade

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6

A sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner.

The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from author Megan Bannen.

Enslaved in Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything: her home, her family, her freedom . . . until the kingdom is conquered by enemy forces and she finds herself an unlikely conspirator in the escape of Prince Khalaf and his irascible father across the vast Mongol Empire.

On the run, with adversaries on all sides and an endless journey ahead, Jinghua hatches a scheme to use the Kipchaks' exile to return home, a plan that becomes increasingly fraught as her feelings for Khalaf evolve into an impossible love.

Jinghua's already dicey prospects take a downward turn when Khalaf seeks to restore his kingdom by forging a marriage alliance with Turandokht, the daughter of the Great Khan. As beautiful as she is cunning, Turandokht requires all potential suitors to solve three impossible riddles to win her hand--and if they fail, they die.

Jinghua has kept her own counsel well, but with Khalaf's kingdom--and his very life--on the line, she must reconcile the hard truth of her past with her love for a boy who has no idea what she's capable of . . . even if it means losing him to the girl who'd sooner take his life than his heart.

Publisher: New York :, Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, ©2018.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062674159
Branch Call Number: YA BAN
Characteristics: 416 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
Lisa_Marie_C Jan 17, 2019

Based on an opera and full of riddles, secrets, and forbidden love, this bittersweet romance hits all the right notes.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
g
green_penguin_484
Apr 08, 2019

*2019*
Completed for Book Project in the 4th quarter of my sophomore year. Amazing book, unexpected twisted ending, loved it!

Lisa_Marie_C Jan 17, 2019

Based on an opera and full of riddles, secrets, and forbidden love, this bittersweet romance hits all the right notes.

JCLBetM Aug 23, 2018

Luckily I got the opportunity to read an advanced copy of The Bird and the Blade, otherwise I might have missed this unforgettable story that’s not usually my cup of tea. When I started reading and realized it was set in the Mongol Empire, I was honestly a little skeptical of whether I’d enjoy it. But that soon faded. The articulately drawn characters quickly captured my attention, and the raw plight of the main girl soon engaged my heart. I’m not sure whether it’s the vulnerable first-person view, the harsh journey that forces the three main characters to build a tenuous trust, or the ever-present sense that something larger is at play, but I felt this book’s lingering effects long after I finished the last page. And yes--there were definitely tears!

I recommend saving the Author’s Notes (at the end of the book) for last, because they do have spoilers. But, when I was done and read what had inspired the author – I fell in love with the story all over again.

This story has the tone and weight of an ancient legend and -- though I thought the history and language references would be confusing or at least daunting -- reads with the ease of a modern tale. The female character is a beautiful hodgepodge of smart, frail, passionate, vulnerable, typical teen, and rousing heroine – which means she’s one of those unremarkably remarkable humans you want to cheer for and roll your eyes at depending on the moment.

Can’t wait to read another Megan Bannen book!

JCLStefanieE Aug 20, 2018

I cried so hard at the end of this book. Beautifully written with rich characters who make you care about them and their growth. It's lovely real love story with a romance that makes your heart ache and swoon was inspired by the opera Turandot. I cannot wait to read what Megan Bannen writes next.

a
Alisa766
Jun 27, 2018

This was wonderful! A page turner with characters who have compelling stories and their complex relationships with each other.

I especially loved the author's notes at the end describing her inspirations and explaining some of the true history borrowed for the purpose of her story.

JCLEmmaF Mar 16, 2018

Oh my goodness. Truly one of the best books, and perhaps the cure to my Six of Crows hangover... what lovable, funny characters. The plot that kept me hurting and rooting for my new fictional friends and crush. The writing... gorgeous and witty and captivating. The culture! The history! Yes! My heart is so fascinated, satisfied, and smitten!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top