Nightbooks

Nightbooks

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.

Alex's original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he'll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He's loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don't have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he's desperate for a different ending--and a way out of this twisted place.

This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer's block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

* Summer 2018 Kids' Indie Next List * YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019-2020 Florida Sunshine State Young Readers Award *

Publisher: New York :, Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,, ©2018.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062560087
Branch Call Number: J WHI
Characteristics: 294 pages ; 22 cm
Alternative Title: Night books

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
vpl_childrens May 15, 2019

Lex loves horror and loves to write. When he is trapped in a witch's oddly large, magical apartment he finds himself required to read her one of his stories every night. Along with a fellow prisoner named Yasmin, Alex must figure out a way to escape before he runs out of stories. This is a not-so-scary story for young horror fans. Also available in eBook, audiobook, and downloadable audiobook.

Wow, this is a great scary book! It’s not the best scary book I’ve read, but it’s still good. I liked listening to Alex’s scary stories he made and I liked Lenore(the cat). I liked how the action started the first chapter, not halfway through the book. The only thing was the book was kind of boring at some parts, but at other parts there were lots of action.

ArapahoeJessica Sep 21, 2018

A fast-paced, spine-tingling fairy tale retelling of Hansel and Gretel! These days witches can't just rely on kids to wander into the woods. They've found new hunting grounds in the most unlikely of places... as Alex discovers to his cost when he wanders through his apartment complex at midnight!

I devoured this book in two hours. Loved all of the spooky stories within the story and the surprise ending! Perfect for middle grade readers in search of chills, thrills, and adventure.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top