The Painted Queen

The Painted Queen

An Amelia Peabody Novel of Suspense

Large Print - 2017
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:

Egypt, 1912--Amelia Peabody and her dashing archeologist husband, Radcliffe Emerson, are once again in danger as they search for a priceless, stolen bust of legendary Queen Nefertiti and Amelia finds herself the target of assassins in this long-awaited, eagerly anticipated final installment of Elizabeth Peters' bestselling, beloved mystery series.

Arriving in Cairo for another thrilling excavation season, Amelia is relaxing in a well-earned bubble bath in her elegant hotel suite in Cairo, when a man with knife protruding from his back staggers into the bath chamber and utters a single word--"Murder"--before collapsing on the tiled floor, dead. Among the few possessions he carried was a sheet of paper with Amelia's name and room number, and a curious piece of pasteboard the size of a calling card bearing one word: "Judas." Most peculiarly, the stranger was wearing a gold-rimmed monocle in his left eye.

It quickly becomes apparent that someone saved Amelia from a would-be assassin--someone who is keeping a careful eye on the intrepid Englishwoman. Discovering a terse note clearly meant for Emerson--Where were you?"--pushed under their door, there can be only one answer: the brilliant master of disguise, Sethos.

But neither assassins nor the Genius of Crime will deter Amelia as she and Emerson head to the excavation site at Amarna, where they will witness the discovery of one of the most precious Egyptian artifacts: the iconic Nefertiti bust. In 1345 B.C. the sculptor Thutmose crafted the piece in tribute to the great beauty of this queen who was also the chief consort of Pharaoh Akhenaten and stepmother to King Tutankhamun.

For Amelia, this excavation season will prove to be unforgettable. Throughout her journey, a parade of men in monocles will die under suspicious circumstances, fascinating new relics will be unearthed, a diabolical mystery will be solved, and a brilliant criminal will offer his final challenge . . . and perhaps be unmasked at last.

Publisher: New York :, William Morrow,, ©2017.
ISBN: 9780062201362
Branch Call Number: LPE MYSTERY PET
Additional Contributors: Hess, Joan - Author

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Roundcat
Oct 19, 2017

I enjoyed visiting the Emerson family one last time, however, the writing was somewhat uneven as happens when a book is finished by a different author. The number of threats to Amelia and her family were rather outrageous. Of course, they were summarily dealt with, but there were parts when it seemed that Joan Hess had taken extreme liberties with Peters' original plot and characters, almost to the point of being farcical. The plot hung together and made sense for the most part, however, so I was glad to have most of the loose ends tied up by the end. The new character, who would have made an interesting addition to the later books in the series, will have to have his future imagined.

c
catostorm
Sep 23, 2017

As much as I enjoy Joan Hess as an author, she does not have the same voice as Elizabeth Peters. Ms. Hess made a valiant effort to complete this unfinished work, but it was not the same quality as Ms. Peters' work. I enjoyed the novel, but it left me feeling a little cheated.

c
corrine1964
Sep 08, 2017

for fans of Elizabeth Peters and Amelia Peabody this book sadly disappoints. The writing is not up to par and the characters are not the same. I did not even bother finishing it.

p
pishposh9
Aug 24, 2017

Very disappointing. Ms Peters was a gifted writer with wit and intelligence. In this work, the attempt at wit is overdone and the plot meanders.

Mysterysue Aug 17, 2017

So sad to know it's her last book, really enjoyed it.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top