The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie

The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Engrossing historical fiction for readers of Bride of New France and The Birth House about one of Canada's most inimitable pioneers and her struggles to survive in the wilderness, brought beautifully to life in this accomplished debut

Teetering on the edge of genteel poverty, Englishwoman Susanna Moodie agrees to leave behind her growing career as a writer to follow her husband from her beloved Suffolk to the backwoods of Canada. John Moodie is an ebullient man with a weakness for money-making schemes, and he is convinced that riches await them in the New World. It is the 1830s, and despite their dreams, Susanna is woefully unprepared for life in the wilderness.

Susanna Moodie's true story of hardship and survival in a log cabin deep in the bush is part of our national mythology. Now, respected writer and editor Cecily Ross gives us an unprecedented fictional portrait of Susanna--the sister, the wife, the mother, the writer--a woman confronting both the wilds of Canada and the wilderness of her own heart. Told through imagined lost diaries, the novel explores Susanna's complex inner life from childhood through to the worst challenges of pioneering in a harsh and unforgiving landscape with her devoted but hapless and often absent spouse.

Part love story, part coming-of-age narrative, this captivating novel brings to vivid life Moodie's courage, wit and strength, as well as her moments of despair. The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie shows how one woman, against all odds and adversity, prevails and makes this savage and beautiful land her own.

Publisher: Toronto : Harper Avenue, c2017.
ISBN: 9781443450195
Branch Call Number: FICTION ROS

Opinion

From Library Staff

A fictional journey into the heart
and mind of one of Canada’s
most famous frontier women —
a trek that illuminates not only
Moodie’s many tragedies, but
also her triumphs.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top