The Best of Adam Sharp

The Best of Adam Sharp

A Novel

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

"Sliding Doors meets High Fidelity." --AU Review

From the #1 bestselling author of The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect, an unforgettable new novel about lost love and second chances. A must-read for fans of Nick Hornby and Karen Joy Fowler.

A man settled into his routines, Adam Sharp is content. He's happy with his partner, Claire, he's the music expert at trivia night at the pub, he looks after his mother and he does the occasional consulting job in IT--but there's something he can never quite shake off.

And that's his nostalgia for what might have been, his blazing affair more than twenty years ago with Angelina Brown, a smart and sexy, strong-willed actress who taught him for the first time, as he played piano and she sang, what it meant to find--and then lose--love. How different might his life be if he hadn't let her walk away?

And then, out of nowhere, from the other side of the world, Angelina gets in touch. What does she want? Adam has sung about second chances, but does he have the courage to believe in them?

The Best of Adam Sharp is about growing old and feeling young, about happy times and sad memories, about staying together and drifting apart, but most of all, it's about the power of the songs we sing when we fall in love.

Publisher: Toronto :, Harper Avenue,, ©2016.
ISBN: 9781443435932
Branch Call Number: FICTION SIM
Characteristics: 374 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
Cactokaur
Sep 28, 2017

I LOVED The Rosie Project, even though I didn't find the Rosie Effect as great, I thought I should give The Best of Adam Sharp a chance. Big mistake, it's never awful but it is plain mediocre. The ending is hugely disappointing.

v
vanhoofl
Aug 02, 2017

This book started out well and continued to tumble downhill in my opinion. I loved The Rosie Project and was looking forward to another good read.

n
njon38
May 21, 2017

This was a great disappointment after reading his book the Rosie project. A book about what makes a marriage last, what if there is nostalgia for "the one that got away", it was trite shallow and had a ludicrous plot twist. The only redeeming feature was it was set to the music of our times as the protagonist was a rock and roll piano player. Same subject as A Separation which I read next and enjoyed

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top