The Girl Before

The Girl Before

A Novel

Large Print - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
27
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive--and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant--and it does.

JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space--and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Praise for The Girl Before

"Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning--a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense." --Lee Child

" The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers." --The New York Times

"J. P. Delaney builds the suspense." -- Vanity Fair

"Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling." -- American Booksellers Association
Publisher: Random House Large Print, 2017.
ISBN: 9781524778163
1524778168
Branch Call Number: LPE FICTION DEL

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
h
hannahbfox1
Nov 06, 2020

I'm bummed that this book has many good reviews because after reading the first chapter or so, I had to give up. I love English writing, but I couldn't stand that the dialogue wasn't in quotations.

j
jCASE0404
Sep 27, 2020

This book was fantastic! Easy read and literally had my mind spinning. Well written, I enjoyed the past and present storytelling.

m
Mommyscard_0
Jan 03, 2020

What an amazing read! I read more than half of it in one 2 hour sitting! I mean as soon as I opened the book I couldn’t put it down! The storyline is very entertaining- it reads very much like a movie! I definitely would recommend this book as a must read for any mystery/ thriller lovers!

k
Katy80did
Sep 11, 2019

Recommended By Karen

m
mynovelesquelife
Aug 16, 2019

RATING: 3 STARS
(Review Not on Blog)

I listened to this one on audio and really enjoyed the narration. I had no expectations going into this novel, nor did I know the plot line. It is one of those books where you won't care for the characters but the story line will have you invested to know how it all ends up. This novel does go back and forth in time, so if you are not a fan of those books, you may wish to pass, but it is done well. Now on what is not done very well, like Gone Girl, (a book I disliked) the characters are ridiculous at times - how they are and what they do (no motivation behind actions). The book is trying to have twists, "look how I am different from others", and be unique, but then fails by not following through. I think had I read it, I would have had a harder time reading it. It wasn't a bad book, but was just another in a long line of "Girl" books.

a
Alpha_zzz
Mar 23, 2019

This was a good book. It seems a little convoluted in the end. A book where your imgination and conclusions seem to be a better fit and a fuller ending than the actual ending. I like surprise twists, but I don’t believe this twist was as flawlessly assembled as some. It certainly piqued my interest to get to the end.

b
Bean1988
Oct 10, 2018

Very good.

n
natcin7
Jun 20, 2018

March 26 2017
Although there are two narrators who describe the events in alternating chapters, their voices are indistinguishable, one from the other. Is it Jane or is it Emma who is talking? The reader has to check the chapter heading to know for sure. Both women are caught up in a lurid and sensational mystery that propels the reader from one page to the next. It is suspenseful, but the explicit sexual encounters are gratuitous. This is not good literature. I would rate it 2 1/2 out of 5 stars. NC

b
brooklynheart5
Apr 30, 2018

Interesting book and a compelling read. Had me hooked.Enjoyed it.

m
mimihardy
Apr 09, 2018

Lots of sex, mysterious deaths, really boring. Gave up after a few chapters.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top