Scrapper

Scrapper

[a Novel]

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
For fans of The Dog Stars and Station Eleven , Scrapper traces one man's desperate quest for redemption in a devastated Detroit.

"Has the feel of Cormac McCarthy's The Road set in present-day Motor City... powerful."
-- Publishers Weekly

Detroit has descended into ruin. Kelly scavenges for scrap metal from the hundred thousand abandoned buildings in a part of the city known as "the zone," an increasingly wild landscape where one day he finds something far more valuable than the copper he's come to steal: a kidnapped boy, crying out for rescue. Briefly celebrated as a hero, Kelly secretly avenges the boy's unsolved kidnapping, a task that will take him deeper into the zone and into a confrontation with his own past and long-buried traumas.

The second novel from the acclaimed author of In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods , Scrapper is a devastating reimagining of one of America's greatest cities, its beautiful architecture, its lost houses, shuttered factories, boxing gyms, and storefront churches. With precise, powerful prose, it asks: What do we owe for our crimes, even those we've committed to protect the people we love?
Publisher: New York. : Soho Press, c2015.
ISBN: 9781616955212
Branch Call Number: FICTION BEL
Characteristics: 304 p. ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
TSCPL_ChrisB Jun 05, 2016

Scrapper has a wonderful premise: a scavenger in an abandoned city finds a kidnapped boy. What works extraordinarily well in this novel is the casting of Detroit as a character. Bell paints the city in such a manner that I found myself repeatedly looking up information about Detroit to better understand this city. He handles the city with affection and trepidation. I was scared of Detroit, but I understood why it was to be feared—it had been abused, abandoned, and forgotten. It's Bell's treatment of the setting that makes this city alive.

As the book proceeds, it does become largely psychological and I think it could've done with more solid story telling to back up what was going on in the mind of Kelly. Nevertheless, I was greatly impressed with Bell's writing and I look forward to reading more of his work in the future.

p
philbrown
Dec 27, 2015

Couldn't finish this book, very rare for me. Too repetitive, moves very slowly, annoying writing style (my opinion).

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top