Among the Ten Thousand Things

Among the Ten Thousand Things

A Novel

Audiobook CD - 2015
Rate this:
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST - For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.

Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life--their brittleness, and their resilience.

Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things

"A luscious, smart summer novel . . . by a blazingly talented young author." -- The New York Times Book Review

"This book is one of the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I've read in a long time." --Jonathan Safran Foer

"Obsessively compelling . . . emotionally sophisticated . . . Among the Ten Thousand Things rises above other novels] for its imagined structure, sentence-by-sentence punch, and pure humanity." -- Vanity Fair

"Gripping . . . Pierpont brings this family of four to life in sharply observed detail. . . . An acute observer of social comedy, Ms. Pierpont has a keen eye for the absurd." -- The Wall Street Journal

"Pierpont's language is heart-stopping. . . . Between Pierpont's literary finesse and her captivating characters, Among the Ten Thousand Things ] reads like a page-turner." -- Entertainment Weekly (grade: A)

"A twisty, gripping story--that packs an emotional wallop." -- O: The Oprah Magazine

"There are going to be as many ingenious twists and turns in this literary novel as there are in a top-notch work of suspense like Gone Girl ." --Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air

"Tender, delicately perceptive . . . Pierpont's voice is wry and confident, and she is a fine anthropologist of New York life." -- The Washington Post

"Pierpont displays a precocious gift for language and observation. . . . She captures the minutiae of loneliness that pushes us away from each other and sometimes brings us back." -- San Francisco Chronicle

From the Hardcover edition.

Publisher: New York :, Random House Audio,, 2015, ©2015.
ISBN: 9781101912874
Branch Call Number: BOOKCD FICTION PIE
Characteristics: 8 sound discs (9 hours)
Additional Contributors: Huber, Hillary (reader)- Narrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top